“The day the earth stood still”

ENGLISH: I arrived in Tamaulipas today February 18, 2017. I got detained on Wednesday February 15th and by Friday the 17th I was already in Mexico (Acuña Coahuila) after 3 days in detention, more than 10 hours of traveling by bus in chain and cuffs, I finally arrived in Mexico. When we arrived (me and my fellow inmates), our custodians drop us off by the side of the road, our personal belongings are then thrown on the floor and one by one we start grabbing our belongings. We walked towards the International Bridge and as we arrive the Mexican immigration agents greet us. They’re ready with information and how to reach our destination. We are then lined up and guided into the SRE offices. By this time we are famished, exhausted (mentally and physically), and of course some of us are desperate to get a rapid and efficient service so that we could get on our way to our destination. While the Immigration officials are processing us we are given a “torta”, a small orange juice, and what looked like a kit kat bar. One of the agents shouts and tells us “Don’t come here feeling entitled“ and I am truly surprised at the demeanor, by now I’m just listening to their instructions and sit back and wait for my turn to be processed. Once in the processing room our information is being taken and identification note is then given to us. We are given information on the different places where we can request shelter, where we are given toiletries, we can groom and take a shower, we’re told of the closes bus station where we can purchase a bus ticket and be on out way to our destination. We are each given a pass for a 25% discount, I paid closed to 950 pesos to travel from Coahuila to Tamaulipas with a layover in Monterrey, Nuevo Leon. I personally think we got taken advantage of at the bus station and that 25% discount was not given to us. I arrived in Monterrey, Nuevo Leon around 6 am. I waited on that bus station close to 6 hours… I swear those 6 hours seemed like an eternity. Over all if I combine all the hours spent at the bus stations, waiting rooms, conferences and processing time I would say that was a good 30 hours (10 of those hours in chains and cuffs) in a bus where the stench of urine was prominent. By then I felt like I was sleepwalking, I had a horrible headache, I was dehydrated, and right there at the bus station that’s where I finally gave up and I started to cry. I’m 40 years old, but regardless I was feeling so alone, and so vulnerable… I couldn’t believe this was happening to me, after being in the United States for 26 years and having to comeback to Mexico after so many years, I actually felt like a tourist, like a complete unknown. Finally when I reached my destination I remember I was given a small paper with several numbers listed. They told us to call these numbers once we reach out destination… so I did, I called one of the numbers and I calmly introduced myself and I told them about what had happened to me… the lady on the other side of the line blatantly asks “and what exactly do you want” I was taken aback… I felt that was the wrong approach, but I decided to stay calm and in the end I was given the necessary information of all the programs available to us, but one of the things that I did not find was where to go and get my identification, where to go and get my revalidation of studies done, where to go and get my passport, and the most important thing is shelter and financial assistance if any. I personally think the program “Estrategia Somos Mexicanos” has potential. Me writing this letter is not to undermine the program, but to reinforce it and cover the different loopholes it might have. Coming back to a Country I barely know is not easy, and I felt it was necessary to let you all know of the setbacks and of my experience to better assess the program.

SPANISH: Llegue a Tamaulipas hoy 18 de Febrero… me detuvieron el Miércoles Febrero 15 y para el viernes 17 ya estaba yo en México (Acuña Coahuila) después de tres días de detención, más de 10 horas en un autobús encadenado y esposado (literal), llegamos a nuestro destino de México, al cruzar el puente las autoridades nos dejan a medio camino, tiran nuestras pertenencias en el suelo y uno por uno las va escogiendo. Caminamos hacia el puente y ya nos esperaban agentes listos para recibirnos y guiarnos para llegar a nuestro destino, a entrar en la sala nosotros llegamos hambrientos, agotados (mental y físicamente), y pues claro al llegar como todo … nos gustaría un proceso rápido y pues las circunstancias no lo permiten … pues somos muchos…! A cada uno nos dieron una torta y jugo de naranja con un chocolate, el agente lo primero que nos dice .. “aquí no vengan a exigir..” y me toma de sorpresa… yo escucho y observo, en fin nos tomaron nuestros datos, nos dieron la constancia de identificación, nos dicen de albergue y de las casas de cambios, de las dos líneas de autobuses y nos dan un pase que es un descuento de 25% de descuento, pague como 950 pesos para el viaje de Coahuila a Tamaulipas con escala en Monterrey, creo yo que el descuento no fue mucho y que no lo captó el sistema, en fin en Monterrey la ciudad de escala.. terminé esperando 5 horas en total.. el autobús nunca llegaba, esas 5 horas fueron eternas.. bajita la mano creo que combinando el total de horas en autobús, salas de esperas, y conferencias y trámites de bienvenida fueron 30 horas (10 de ellas encadenados y esposado) ya para ese entonces yo ya parecía sonámbulo, un dolor de cabeza tremendo, deshidratado, en la central de Monterrey fue cuando al fin me di por vencido y las lágrimas me ganaron, yo solo, cansado, y tan desorientado.. a pesar de mis 40 años pues a cualquier le pasa… porque después de estar en Estados Unidos por 25 años … y regresar a tu país después de tanto tiempo… más bien me sentía como turista perdido… para este entonces el nudo en la garganta que tenía era muy fuerte. Finalmente llego a mi destino y me acuerdo que en la bienvenida me dieron un papelito con varios números que nos dijo el señor “all llegar a su destino llamen a estos números para accesoria y ayuda, pues llame, me presenté y le dije a la señorita que ya había llegado a mi lugar de destino… la señorita me dice “y que quiere..” pero un tono no apto, total .. al final me dijo que llamara en 2 dias para obtener más información , llame 2 días después y finalmente me guían a los diferentes programas, ayuda, pero lo que carece es información a donde ir a ayuda económica, a donde llevar mis antecedentes escolares para hacerlos valer en este país, dónde sacar mis identificación, pasaporte y lo más importante es alojamiento..! Creo el programa tiene buena fundación.. el solo hecho de decir mi relato de esta travesía traumática es para que se enteren de las dificultades que uno pasa al ingresar al país después de casi 3 décadas..

Espero mi relato les ayude a asesorar mejor a los repatriados.

Leave a Reply

